David Andrews Receives 2020 Ron Burton Group Service Award


dangolka (CBS) — David Andrews is beginning his 2020 season on an especially excessive notice. On Thursday night time, the Patriots middle was introduced as this 12 months’s recipient of the Ron Burton Group Service Award.

Andrews is again to enjoying soccer after lacking all the 2019 season after being recognized with blood clots in his lungs. However although he didn’t play on the sphere, he continued to make an influence off it.

Andrews was introduced with the award through the annual Patriots Premiere occasion at Gillette Stadium. The award is known as after the late Ron Burton, father of WBZ-TV sports activities director Steve Burton and reporter Paul Burton. The elder Burton was the primary participant drafted by the Patriots and was a group chief revered for his charitable work.

“I didn’t anticipate this, it’s an enormous honor,” Andrews mentioned through the Patriots Premiere particular on WBZ-TV. “It’s so nice to be again and so lucky to be at a spot like this. Being right here six years now, I’ve actually made it my dwelling. Seeing what this org meant not solely on the sphere however off the sphere, studying extra about that, what an awesome instance the Kraft household has set, the Burtons. Simply to be on this group is basically particular.”

“David embodies the whole lot the Patriots group is about: willpower, dedication and a team-first perspective, on and off the sphere.” mentioned Kraft. “He assaults his dedication to the group with the identical ardour and power that has helped this former rookie free agent develop right into a four-time workforce captain. He’s as devoted to serving others, each his teammates and the group, as any participant we’ve got had. Management is finest exemplified in instances of adversity, and David’s dedication to serving to others was on full show final 12 months. Regardless of lacking the season for well being causes, David nonetheless volunteered his time to serve and assist our group. We’re so happy with David for all he’s achieved, however most significantly, for who he’s.”

Previous recipients are Kyle Van Noy (2019), Joe Cardona (2018), Jordan Richards (2017), Rob Gronkowski (2016), Nate Solder (2015), Devin McCourty (2014), Matthew Slater (2013), Zoltan Mesko (2012), Jerod Mayo (2011), Vince Wilfork (2010), Kevin Faulk (2009), Larry Izzo (2008), Ty Warren (2007), Jarvis Inexperienced (2006), Matt Mild (2005), Troy Brown (2004) and Joe Andruzzi (2003).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here